Readers Comments and Reviews

 

A Wonderful Treasury of Encounters With The Miraculous 16th Karmapa, 7 Jan 2014
By
E. Walker (The Wild West of England)

A remarkable book full of magic, touching humanity and laughter. The accounts have the same vibrant, joyful and yet deeply moving qualities with which those fortunate enough to have met The 16th Karmapa all seem to become illuminated by when they talk of him. As many of those who knew the 16th Karmapa get older, Norma Levine has done a great service in gathering together their stories for future generations to wonder at and enjoy. There are many photographs throughout, often taken from personal collections not widely seen elsewhere before. Hopefully this book will be read throughout and beyond the Buddhist community as a collection of encounters with a phenomenal man who was, at one and the same time, entirely beyond the everyday experience of most of us, and yet so deeply grounded in it as to be immediately accessible.

Inspiring, 21 April 2014
By

This is a wonderful book, full of astonishing and inspiring encounters and stories. It is a fascinating glimpse into a timeless and precious world of the miraculous and the sacred. Read it!

True life stories we can only dream of., 7 April 2014

I’d heard and read much of the great 16th, and was always sorry that the heady days of my youth had distracted me enough to miss his visit to the UK during the 70’s. Strangely, after meeting the 17th Karmapa, I began to dream about the 16th……and this book has filled in what I had missed. It is divided into 3 sections, each dealing with one of the three continents he lived on or visited; India/Tibet, USA and Europe. The Indian accounts of meeting him are fantastic and at the same time told with a pragmatism and ordinariness, but a really touching account of an extraordinary relationship came from Goodie Oberoi of the Indian Hotels group; it brought me to tears. On the other hand the folk in the US tell us stories that weave magic and wonder, so surprised were they to encounter such a being in their own backyard. Ken and Katia Holmes give wonderfully detailed information about the place of Buddhism in the West at that time, and describe their own crazy 6 month journey with the Karmapa around Europe in a red bus full of birds. Amongst all the special tales there’s an intriguing one of the shrine room in the Welsh hills that filled more than twice its capacity for the Black Crown ceremony, and shrank back to size afterwards. Wonderful true life stories such as the rest of us can only dream of. Thank you Norma.

 

Wonderfull and inspiring, 2 Mar 2014
By

A great collection of personal experiences of people who came in contact with His Holiness 16th Karmapa.
How wonderfull and inspiring can a meeting be with a living Buddha like Him.
Every reader, Buddhist or not, will be blessed by these stories.

his book will become a classic, 30 Jan 2014
By

A truly inspiring book, since arriving I have been reading and re reading and resonating with all these significant experiences. Thank you Norma for taking the time to compile this book for us all to share.
G.B

Don’t Delay reading this amazing book!, May 12, 2014

This book has the power to give you a transmission as you read it.

If you ever wanted to understand how Buddhism came to the West, this book is for you.
If you ever wanted to understand how to have more peace in your heart and mind, this book is for you.

While I was reading this book, I could feel as if i was with the 16th Karmapa!
And I so enjoyed knowing the coarse of his travels as he spread the 2,600 year old teachings into the West.
A great read!

Amy McCracken

Touching and inspirational stories, May 5, 2014

By

Auspicious stories of His Holiness 16th Karmapa. Touching and inspiring. Reading the book I felt as if I met His Holiness.

WONDERFUL READ, March 30, 2014

BETTER THAN EXPECTED a very interesting read is one book to give to others interested in Buddhist Tantra as a gift they will treasure.

Fantastic vehicle for getting a glimpse of one of the greatest spiritual masters of our time, March 12, 2014
By
 I’ve always been fascinated by the 16th Karmapa after reading the accounts of his death in a Chicago hospital and the affect it had on the staff and doctors who attended him at that time. I purchased this book to gain a greater understanding of his impact on people and was not disappointed. The book reads as a series of memoirs of those who had the good fortune to spend time with his Holiness throughout his travels, and features one gem after another of incredible anecdotes about the power of this living Buddha. How it made me long to meet him myself! Perhaps one day I will have that opportunity with his present incarnation. Regardless, this book was a true inspiration for my practice and provided a boost of faith in the power of spiritual practice and the benefits it leads to. I would recommend this book to all who have heard of the Karmapa and wish to learn more.
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary book., February 7, 2014
This review is from: The Miraculous 16th Karmapa (Paperback)
This really is an extraordinary book. An exhilarating and inspiring experience to read. As each person recounts their memories of the great Sixteenth Karmapa and describes how he affected and changed their lives, we get an active sense of his amazing presence. Ranging from high Tibetan lamas and scholars to those with no prior connection to Buddhism, everyone speaks simply and directly of their encounters with this enlightened being. Reading the book feels like being placed in the mandala of HH Karmapa’s wisdom and compassion. What also comes across is the vastness of this activity across time and space, moving from HH Dusum Khyenpa the First Karmapa, through to HH Orgyen Trinley, the XVIIth Karmapa.